• Course Information
  • Introduction
    • Basics of Neurohistology
      30 min
  • Cerebellum
  • Cerebrum
  • Spinal Cord
  • Inner ear
  • Eye & Eyelid
  • Final Exams



Ear — Introduction

The ear consists of three chambers, and functions as a sensory organ for the auditory (hearing) and vestibular (balance) systems.

The three chambers of the ear are the external ear (auricle and external auditory canal or meatus), middle ear (tympanic cavity) and inner ear (bony and membranous labyrinth).

During this chapter we will mainly discuss the contents and histology of the inner ear.

Copyright © 2020 All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced, distributed, or transmitted in any form or by any means, including printing, copying, recording, or other electronic or mechanical methods.